Car AccidentsFor Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma and Arkansas
A car accident is a frightening event and it is only the beginning on a long road to recovery. First and foremost, you must get the medical treatment you need. Then, you must pursue the compensation necessary to pay for your medical care, lost income and other expenses. Even a so-called “fender bender” can force you to take time off work and may require medical treatment and car repairs. A serious accident may also result in a long-term or lifetime disability. Frustratingly, you have to jump through many hoops to get the insurance company to pay for your rightful damages.
The partners at Bishop & Hayes, P.C. have almost five decades of combined experience in auto insurance negotiations and litigation. We peal back the layers of insurance to recover the maximum possible amount. We also negotiate down your medical bills so you can avoid debt as a result of the accident and put more money into your pocket once we reach a settlement with the insurance companies.
We exclusively handle auto accidents so that we can devote all of our resources and knowledge to delivering the best representation possible.
Missouri Insurance Law
Missouri law requires all drivers to be covered at a minimum for $25,000 for each person injured in an accident, $50,000 for all people injured in a single accident and $10,000 for property damage. This covers the occupants of the other car if you cause an accident.
Uninsured motorist insurance, which Missouri drivers are required by law to carry, covers $25,000 per person and $50,000 for all people in your vehicle.
These figures represent minimums. Drivers often carry more to protect themselves in case of a more serious crash.
Kansas Insurance Law
Kansas insurance law mandates are more extensive. Drivers must carry $25,000/ $50,000/ $10,000 in liability and $25,000/ $50,000 in uninsured motorist coverage, similar to Missouri, but must also carry personal injury protection, or PIP, which covers the policyholder regardless of fault.
Oklahoma Insurance Law
In Oklahoma, the at-fault driver pays for the injured patients’ medical expenses. The state mandates that all drivers carry liability insurance of $25,000/ $50,000/ $25,000. The insurance companies must offer uninsured motorist coverage, but drivers do not have to purchase it. Drivers are encouraged, but not required, to carry PIP.
Arkansas Insurance Law
Arkansas law also sets the minimum liability insurance at $25,000/ $50,000/ $25,000. Insurance companies are required to offer uninsured, underinsured, and PIP for an additional premium.
Learn More About Recovering From Auto Insurance Companies
The lawyers at Bishop & Hayes, P.C. aggressively pursue maximum insurance recovery after a car accident. Call one our firm’s three offices to schedule a free case evaluation with our experienced lawyers. We handle your claim on a contingency fee basis, so you do not owe us lawyers’ fees until we recover damages for you. We are members of the Missouri, Oklahoma, Kansas and Arkansas Bars.